29 Days, 29 To-Do’s!

  1. Watch the sunrise: Set your alarm, make a cup of coffee, and get your butt out of bed! There is something so peaceful about watching the sun come up and simply enjoying the silence of the morning.
  2. Do a random act of kindness and don’t tell anyone about it: Don’t get me wrong, I think random acts of kindness are great (and should be done more often), but what’s even more great is doing one in secrecy. Make someone’s day, go out of your way, show someone undeserving grace but (now the hard part)…fight the urge to tell the world! Keep it off Twitter and just between you and your Creator.
  3. Make homemade valentines: Let’s be real, who doesn’t like an old-school, homemade valentine?? Ya know, the lace doily kind with a cheesy poem written on the back in a red crayon. Give them out to your friends or *drumroll please…your secret admirer! (Calm down my shy little introverts; it was just a suggestion) 😉
  4. Let yourself have a lazy day: Ever feel like all you do is go, go, go? We live in a world where there are always places to be, people to see, and things to get done. Although I am a huge supporter of productivity, I also know that it is important to let your body and soul rest. With that being said, I dare you to take a day off! Stay in your jammies all day, bake cookies, watch old Disney movies, snuggle up with tea and a good book. R-E-L-A-X!
  5. Write a letter (KEY WORDS: write, letter. Notice I did not use “type, email, text”): I don’t know what it is, but there is something so exciting about receiving mail. And no my little tech-savvy readers, I’m not talking about in your inbox. I’m talking about a real life mailbox! So get out paper, a pen, and start writing. Whether it be to your Grandma across the country or your neighbor down the street, I guarantee it will be a sweet little surprise for them.
  6. Bake cookies, eat cookies, share cookies: I like to think of cookies as international hugs. Like come on now, who can possibly say no to a little bite of chocolately goodness? No one. The answer is no one. So grab your girlfriends and have a baking day! Not only will your house smell like heaven by the end of the day, your tummy will be happy as well. Don’t forget to share! (Preferably with me)
  7. Take yourself out on a date: Saturday night means date night with the beautiful, one-and-only *insert your name here. Yes, I’m talking to you! It’s time to spoil yourself for a night. So put on that little black dress (you look great, I promise), some red lipstick, and take yourself out for a nice dinner. Who said you need a date for date night anyways?
  8. Invite your girlfriends over for an old-fashioned slumber party: Remember in middle school when you would invite your friends over on Friday night for a “GIRLS ONLY” sleepover? If you were anything like me, these nights consisted of lots of hair braiding, nail painting, and truth or daring. Oh and let’s not forget the hours of sacred pillow talk where all of our deepest and darkest secrets were revealed and secured with a pinky swear. So, why not recreate these nights that gave us so many memories? I don’t care if you’re 16 or 60, grab your pals and your PJ’s for a trip down memory lane. (Side note: perfectly acceptable to exchange binge watching Lizzie McGuire for Gossip Girl, The Bachelor, etc).
  9. Do something out of your comfort zone: comfort. The word itself is comforting, am I right? But the problem with comfort is that we too easily get stuck in it. Being comfortable is easy, it’s mindless, it’s, well…comforting. But you know what it also is? It’s a trap; a trap to keep you in the safe zone and away from anything that scares you. A trap that limits you, inhibits you, protects you. So this month, my dare to you is to be uncomfortable. Challenge yourself to do something you wouldn’t normally do. Say hi to that cute guy in your class, try a new food, do anything that you would normally say “no” to. Be bold, be brave, be uncomfortable.
  10. Roll the windows down and turn the volume up: One of my absolute favorite things to do is go on late night drives. There is something so liberating about a starry sky and empty road. It seems to me that the further I drive, the smaller my problems become. So fill up your gas tank and try it out for yourself! Drive until you can’t see the city lights anymore, until your voice hurts from singing so loud, until the morning sun comes up. (Words of advice: If you’re anything like me and directionally impaired, make sure to invest in a good GPS so you’ll end up back home!)
  11. Let the people you love know that you love them: If you love someone, tell them. Tell them a lot. It’s as simple as that, my friends! ❤
  12. Make a list of things you love about yourself: If you had to make a list of everything you love, how long would it take for you to list yourself? Loving myself is something I’ve struggled with for years and a topic I plan on writing several posts about in the future. It’s not until lately that I’ve truly realized the importance of self love. There is only one you out there. Think about that. Out of the billions of people on this planet, there is no one exactly like you. That’s pretty nifty if you ask me. I already think you’re great but now it’s time for yourself to believe that as well. Take some time this month to make a list of things you love about yourself. These could be physical things like your hair or freckles or personality traits, like your sense of humor or compassionate personality. You are already loved by so many people, including myself and our Creator, so why not love yourself?
  13. Go on a run FOR THE FUN OF IT: running – just the word makes some of you want to run far far away from this blog (pun intended). But really, why has running become such a dreaded activity? God gave us legs to run so we might as well use them, right? I think there’s such a negative stigma around running these days because we make it so unnecessarily complicated. How fast? How far? How many calories burned? You know what my question is? WHO CARES?! Run for the fun of it! Run when you’re happy. Run when you’re sad (it is free therapy, isn’t it?) Run after a dog, a car, a shadow. Run because it’s a beautiful day out, because you want to, because you’re strong and you can!
  14. Whip out your crayons and start coloring: You know those therapeutic coloring books that have all the sudden become so popular? Yes, I’m talking about the ones at Barnes & Noble that are filled with pages of geometric designs that may make you slightly dizzy at first. I DISCOVERED THESE YEARS AGO BEFORE THEY WERE POPULAR. Okay, just had to throw that out there. But in all seriousness, get yourself one of these babies. It’s a great way to easy your mind and unwind from the stress of the day. Oh and don’t forget to put that masterpiece on the fridge when you’re finished!!
  15.  Smile 🙂 to yourself, to others, to the world: FUN FACT – smiling (even when you don’t feel like it) actually improves your mood. EVEN FUNNER (calm down, grammar nerds) FACT: this actually works!!! I first read this little tidbit in a psychology magazine a few months ago and while I thought it was interesting, I did doubt that it would actually work. So I tried it out and to my surprise, it did indeed make me feel better. But now it’s your turn to give it a shot! When you’re in a situation when smiling is the last thing you feel like doing (for some of you, maybe the scenario in #13), try it out. A smile is a small gesture than can have a huge impact not only on you, but the people you’re around. Oh and while we’re on this topic, let me just throw out there that if a stranger makes the effort to smile at you in public, don’t be that person that doesn’t smile back. Ruuuuude.
  16. Spend a day away from your phone: When you think of common addictions, I’m sure drugs, alcohol, gambling, and things like that come to mind. But there is one huge aspect of our lives that I think we are all somewhat to addicted to: yep, I’m talking about our phones. I’m the first to admit that these little handheld devices can be addicting! There are nights when I find myself going from texting someone to Twitter to Instagram to Snapchat to answering a phone call only to be interrupted by someone who wants to FaceTime. While I think cell phones are a brilliant invention and are immensely helpful, I also think that they can become unhealthy addictions. We are so concerned with constantly being connected to others, to the world, to beloved wifi! I urge you to take a day away from your phone. Leave it at home and live unconnected for the day.
  17. People watch (CHALLENGE: NO JUDGING): If I had to list my top 5 hobbies, you can bet that people watching would be on there. It’s such a simple activity that brings me so much happiness. I don’t know why, but there’s something I love about merely watching people go about their day. The only problem with this is that it is so easy to be judgmental while people watching. Eww why is she wearing that? Wow, I can’t believe she just said that. Blah blah blah, the list goes on and on. So, this month I challenge you to sit down for awhile and do some people watching without judging. Don’t know where to go? I recommend the mall, parking lots, and airports! Definitely airports!!
  18. Listen (and I mean actually listen): There are two types of listening: 1) The listening where you nod your head and mutter “yeah” every few minutes but you’re actually thinking about what you’re going to have for dinner. 2) The listening where you are actually listening and engaged in the conversation. The listening where you look the person in the eye, provide insightful advice, and offer your full attention. Strive to be a #2 type of listener.
  19. Attempt a new recipe & laugh if (when?) it doesn’t turn out: I’ve always loved cooking until I moved into my own apartment and I ACTUALLY had to cook. You see, up until then, “cooking” to me was helping my mom pour in a few ingredients and then coming downstairs when it was all done. “Cooking” was coming home after school, pouring myself a glass of milk and eating the dinner that was prepared for me. But now, I am in my own apartment and “cooking” is a whole different story. I have found that it is much harder work than I originally thought. Let’s just say I eat a loooot of cereal. I’m not only giving this challenge to my readers, I’m giving it to myself as well! Let’s take a night and really get down to business. Don’t get intimidated by the recipes, the ingredients you can’t pronounce, or the good possibility that it might not turn out. Just have fun with it and enjoy the process! Bon apetite!
  20. Spend a day at the bookstore: If you know me, you know that I spend almost every single day at the bookstore. I’m not kidding, I’m at Barnes and Noble more than my own house. But hey, there are worse places I could be spending my time, right? So be Tatum Morton for the day and head on over to your local bookstore. Spend the day reading, writing, and browsing the bookshelves. Oh and I highly recommend sitting on the floor of an aisle with your nose in a book (not that I’ve done this before, wink wink).
  21. Stop and look around: This world is beautiful. I think the hardest part about this challenge is step one – actually stopping. It seems like we are on the go from the moment we wake up until the moment we fall asleep. We rarely take the time to stop what we’re doing and actually look at this world we’re living in. It’s breathtaking, isn’t it? The clouds, the mountains, the sunsets. There’s beauty all around us but we must actually stop and take the time to admire it.
  22. Go out in public au naturel: Let’s get girly for a second; makeup is fun! There’s something about Friday night that just screams a bold cat eye and red lipstick. While I have no problem with makeup and actually admire the art of it, I do have a problem with believing you are only pretty with it on. This is something I personally have struggled with. We are bombarded by the media that we are not good enough just the way we are. But I am here to tell you that you are. That messy hair, freckly faced girl you see looking back at you in the mirror each morning is good enough. In fact, she’s beautiful. We must train ourselves to believe that we are perfect without makeup. I realize that this is harder for some of us for others so let’s start with baby steps. One time this month, make a point to go out in public without any makeup! It’s a little scary, a little intimidating, a little out of our comfort zone, but I know you can do it.
  23. Cry it out: I admit, I am a crier. I cry over big things, over little things, and over everything in between. I realize this is not something I should be bragging about, but hear me out on this one: CRYING HELPS. It does. For all of you macho men/women out there, crying is not a sign of weakness. In fact, it’s a sign of strength. It’s a sign that you’re living, you’re feeling, you’re experiencing something. It’s a way to let out all of those yucky thoughts and feelings trapped inside your body. So next time you’re feeling a little glum, don’t fight back the tears. Let them out and I promise you will feel better after.
  24. Watch old home videos: BRAGGING MOMENT – Not only was I an adorable little girl, I was a hilarious little girl. I’m lucky enough to have parents that captured my glory days on the video camera. We have cassettes upon cassettes of the adventures my brother and I embarked on when we were younger. I’m telling you, these things are golden! Now it’s your turn to get out those dusty videos and reminisce over your childhood. You’ll be surprised at the witty comments, mismatched outfits, and happiness those moments will bring back.
  25. Hike a mountain: I’m an Arizona girl. The closest thing to green in my city is a cactus. I love the desert, the hot weather, and yep, you guessed it…hiking! Hiking is such a great activity because it’s a workout for your body and your mind. You can sweat it out and think it out all at once. Not to mention, you’ll end up with a nice tan by the end of the day. So grab some water (correction: LOTS of water) and start trekking up that mountain! New to hiking and want a buddy? Pick me, pick me, pick me!
  26. Go on a spontaneous road trip: First and foremost, I realize that the fact I’m suggesting you go out and take a “spontaneous” road trip is slightly taking away the spontaneity of it. But, I still highly suggest you take me up on this offer! My mom and I randomly decided last week to go up North for the day and let me tell you, it was a day to remember. And the best part was that it was completely unplanned! Sometimes there’s so much planning that goes into a vacation that it starts to suck the fun out of it. So let’s avoid that problem and just go with the flow! Go wherever you want, whenever you want, with whoever you want. Happy travels!!
  27. Look through antique shops: History was never my favorite subject, so the closest I’ll ever get to doing anything history related is browsing through antique shops! Learning and shopping all in one? Count me in! Walking into an antique shop is like physically walking into a history book. These little beat up shops are full of hidden treasures. The best part? You never know what you’re going to come out with. It’s a lot of sorting and seeking and uncovering, but mostly a lot of fun!
  28. Laugh until you cry, pee, snort (I’ll stop there): “Laughter is the best medicine.” Yeah yeah yeah, I know we’re all shaking our heads at this quote but come on now, don’t you feel better after a good, hard laugh? And no, I’m not talking about the pity laugh you force out when Aunt Sally makes a bad joke at the dinner table. I’m talking about real laughter. Laughter that makes your stomach hurt, that makes you wipe the tears from your eyes, that makes you feel alive. So let’s all make a conscious effort to laugh more, whether that means a night out with your friends or watching ridiculous vines for hours. Laughter is good for the soul, friends!
  29. LIVE: I’m sure you’re thinking now, “Really Tate? The last thing you could think of is to live?”  Yes, I know it seems silly because we live every day…but, do we really? Are we actually living or just going through the motions? Are we just trying to get through the day or are we making the most of every opportunity? Are we taking chances, making memories, and spending our days to the fullest? There’s a big difference between living and surviving. I think some of us are stuck in survival mode, merely getting done what needs to be done. So I challenge you this month to truly LIVE.

XOXO Tate

Leave a Reply

