It’s Just a Bad Day, Not a Bad Life

Let’s be real – some days suck. Your coffee spills, you hit every red light, and you stub your toe (which is equally annoying and painful) as you’re walking out the door. By the end of the day all you want to do is curl up in a burrito of blankets and forget about the world. You go to sleep, you wake up, and it’s a new day – a good day.

Or maybe not. Maybe you’re in a dark spot right now. Maybe these days have been happening one after another for years and years now. Thing like depression, anxiety, and fear have taken over your life. I’ve been there, I’ve done that. And let me tell you, it’s exhausting. Sometimes I still find myself in that dark place and if there’s one thing that has helped me get out of it, it’s this little quote:

“It’s just a bad day, not a bad life.”

You were expecting something a little more profound, huh? Well sorry to disappoint, but it’s as simple as that! Bad days are inevitable and it’s easy to let them steal your joy, but we can’t go around focusing on the bad. Yes, you might have a coffee stain on your shirt and you were late to work and you have a bruise on your toe, but that doesn’t mean tomorrow will be like that. Or the next day or the next. Because you know what’s also inevitable? GOOD DAYS! And these are the days we need to remember.

So here’s a little challenge for you: on your next bad day (which isn’t for awhile, I hope) I want you to fight the urge to focus on the negative and instead, remind yourself of all the positives in your life. You are alive, you are loved, you are important. You have made it through many bad days so far and chances are, you’ll make it through this one. Something I like to do when I’m sad is look through pictures of times when I was happy – truly, wholeheartedly happy. And not only look through these pictures, but realize that I’m going to feel that way again. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but one day I will. After all, it’s just a bad day not a bad life, right?

P.S. Here’s a little video I made to watch when I’m feeling down! It’s entitled “Tate’s Happy Moments” and well…I think the title speaks for itself!

NZEN2346 from Tatum on Vimeo.

I encourage you to make one of these videos for yourself to watch on days that aren’t so great! These are the moments we live for. Cheers to more and more of them!

XOXO Tate

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

