Your Storm Will Not Last Forever

Sometimes God uses little things to teach us big things.

Like today, for instance. I had to take my kitty to the vet for her first round of shots. For those of you who follow me on social media, you know how obsessed I am with this little two pound kitty. And I mean, OBSESSED. I could go on for hours about her little grey markings and big blue eyes and tiny (but surprisingly sharp) teeth, but that is not the moral of this story. Maybe a future story (spoiler alert), but not this one. So anyway, I give her over to the vet and she looks at me like “Mom, what are you doing? Why are you betraying me?” Stay calm kitty, the worst is yet to come. The shot goes in and she’s crying and I swear this kitty is speaking to me through her eyes. “MOM I TRUSTED YOU. THIS HURTS. WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME?” And that’s when it hit me.

I wonder if this is God feels about us when we are struggling. We look up to Him asking the same questions, “I TRUSTED YOU. THIS HURTS. WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME?” And while it hurts Him to see us hurting, He knows what He’s doing. He sees the big picture while we only see this mere moment of pain. It broke my heart to see little Sadie crying and struggling under that needle, but do you know why I did it? Because I love her. Because I want to protect her. Because I know what’s best for her. If only she will trust me.

If only we will trust God when we go through storms of life. Yes, it hurts now, but there is a reason for the hurt. And one day, we will know that reason. We will look back on these times of darkness and truly understand why we went through them. And we will be filled with thankfulness for our Father for loving us enough to let us go through them. But, we must endure the pain in order to come out on the other side. There has to be a little darkness to fully appreciate the light. Our God is a good God. He is a God of love and grace and mercy. He doesn’t want to hurt you; He wants to protect you. Too often, we get these two confused. So just know that while things may be tough right now, there is a reason. Hold on to His promises. Your storm will not last forever.

XOXO Tate

P.S. meow

Leave a Reply

