Swimming under the Stars

It’s the last night of summer. I’m cuddled up in my blanket reading a book when my Dad knocks on the door. “Wanna go for a night swim?” which I promptly reply, “I’ll have to check the temperature first.” (I know, who actually says that? Then again, I am very strange.) Right then my senses kicked in. YES YOU WANT TO GO SWIMMING WITH YOUR DAD UNDER THE STARS. So that’s what I did. I went swimming with my Dad under the stars and boy oh boy, it was an experience I will never forget.

Upon first getting into the pool and feeling a bit uneasy about the temperature being roughly 2 degrees colder than I would have preferred, I quickly realized what I special night this was. A clear sky, my sweet old man, and a quietness that was more comforting than creepy. Life was good.

As I floated in the pool and gazed up at the night sky, something happened in me. A divine intervention, perhaps? I soon became overwhelmed with how big the sky was, or rather, how small I was in comparison to it. This thought blew my mind. The same moon and stars I was looking at were the same moon and stars someone across the world was looking at. Someone who is a stranger. Someone who could be my soulmate. Someone who is rejoicing. Someone who is grieving. A new life, an old life. Hopeful eyes, a breaking heart. All under this same sky – a blanket of darkness with thousands of stars sprinkling throughout.

And then it hit me. That sounds a lot like life, right? It seems everywhere we look there is darkness. Heartbreak, depression, loss. Wars, famine, crimes. If we’re not careful, this darkness can overtake us, overwhelm us, consume us. Make it seem like there is no end to the darkness; no way out. The night sky. But then there are the stars. The moments in life where we feel a glimmer of hope. A light at the end of the tunnel. A few seconds of peace. The stars, though not immediately visible, are always there. But we must search for them. Seek them out in the darkness. No, the stars don’t beg for our attention. They don’t scream for us to look at them even though they know the infinite power they hold. Just like those moments in life. Far and few between sometimes. But once you find one, magic happens. Hope develops. Hearts lighten. Eyes open. If only we stop looking around and start looking up.

Look up. At the sky. At the stars. At the light. At God. He is, after all, the creator of both light and dark. The One who placed the stars in the sky. The author and perfecter of our faith. But when it comes down to it, He himself is the light. The One who illuminates and shines in areas of darkness. The One holding the flashlight, whispering softly, “It’s okay. Follow me. I know the way.” And the way? It’s Him. The only way we can escape the darkness of this world, the overbearing heaviness of this life. In Him, we find safety and rest and joy. We find clarity and renewal and forgiveness. He is the stars, He is the light.

If only, we would look..

UP.

“The light shines in the darkness and the darkness can never extinguish it.” -John 1:5

Leave a Reply

