YOU are the ocean

“You are not a drop in the ocean. You are the entire ocean in a drop.” -Rumi

I am one person in a state of 6.7 million, a country of 318.9 million, a universe of 7.1 billion. I am one person in one state out of fifty states, in one country out of 196 countries. I am seemingly insignificant. Small. Unnoticed.

Or am I? Rumi argues that we are not just a drop in the ocean, but the entire ocean in a drop. We don’t just live in the universe; the universe lives in us. We reside in the world, but the true world, the real world, resides in our soul.

“Stop acting so small. You are the universe in ecstatic motion.”

This entire concept of being small, yet large. Insignificant, yet significant. A piece of the world, yet the whole world. This completely blows my mind. It makes me look at the world differently and look at myself differently. It makes me wonder why we look to the world for fulfillment when the real place we should be looking at is inside ourselves. Our hearts, our minds, our spirits – this inner world that just so happens to live in the outer world.

This is why I like yoga so much. It challenges me to view myself in a different light. While society tells me I am small and imperfect and insignificant, yoga reminds me that I am whole and beautiful and complete. I am whole because I am me. I am whole because God is in me. Yoga is my way of connecting the two.

The Hebrew word for breath is Spirit. In yoga, the focus is on your breath. It is your way of connecting with  yourself, connecting with the Spirit. Whether you call it God or Jesus or the Divine or Love; the name does not matter. We are connecting to something greater than ourselves; a force that connects us all universally, but knows us each of us by our own individuality. Breathe in the Spirit, breathe out the Spirit. Breathe in His grace, breathe out His praise. Breathe in love, breathe out hate. Breathe in your own world, breathe out the world we inhabit. Breath, spirit, connection. This is yoga.

As a Christian, Christ lives in me. Jesus, the Savior of the world, resides in me. If that doesn’t blow your mind, I don’t know what will. But I think that’s what Rumi was talking about. He believed in Divine love, of faith, of a force greater than himself. He believed in prayer and meditation and inner peace – the same concepts Christians believe. But to me, this quote directly relates to Jesus being inside my body, flooding my spirit with his grace and love and compassion. He is the ocean and He is inside of me. I am just a drop but because I have Him, I am the ocean as well.

There are so many bible verses I could bring up that relates to this, but I think Galatians 2:20 sums it up the best.

“I am crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me.”

“Crucified with Christ.” I die to myself so that Christ can live in me. The term “I die daily” that Christians often say – this is what it means. My desires, my sins, my selfishness – I die to these things so that Christ’s love, Christ’s grace, Christ’s compassion can live in me.

“And it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me.”He’s IN me, people! His home is my Spirit. His Spirit joins with my Spirit. How, you ask? Through breath, through connection, through mediation. He pours out of me so that others can see him THROUGH me. My words, my actions, my thoughts – I pray that they are always a representation of me. Though I am only a drop in the ocean, I have the entire ocean in me. May everyone I come in contact with be able to see this Ocean, this Savior, Jesus Christ, inside of me.

There’s a song I love and the lyrics go something like this. “Let them see you in me. Let them hear you when I speak. Let them see you when I sing. Let them see you, let them see you in me.” That song is my battle cry, my last prayer, my final breath. I have so much inside of me – so much love and light and peace. I want others to experience it as well! I want others to feel it as well. I want others to experience this ocean as well – wave by wave, sinking deeper and deeper into the love of the Divine.

Which brings me to another lyric. “If His grace is an ocean we’re all sinking”

We can’t comprehend God. He is too big, too large, too magnificent for words. He is the ocean after all. And even the ocean on this Earth has not been fully discovered. We have only explored 5% of this world ocean. FIVE PERCENT. There is a whole new world out there, a whole undiscovered space of water and mystery and beauty. If something on Earth like the ocean can’t be fully described or discovered, how could God be?

That’s why we’re sinking. Sinking in his grace, his love, his compassion. Sinking deeper and deeper into the Soul of who He is. The more we find out, the more we love Him. The more we read and study and discover, the more we want to be like Him. We are drawn to Him like people are drawn to this worldy ocean – for it’s peacefulness and beauty and mystery. For the way it makes us feel small, yet large, Insignificant, yet significant. A piece of the world, yet the whole world.

“You are not a drop of the ocean. You are the entire ocean in one drop.” -Rumi

Tate

 

Leave a Reply

